Overthought

December 3, 2009

Cinnamon and Vanilla

Filed under: Uncategorized — by Caroline @ 3:22 am

Instead of working on my college applications over Thanksgiving break, I decided to do some cooking and baking. One of the things I made was the beloved Snickerdoodle cookie. I have tried a few recipes before, but I think this was the best because it created a cookie that was really, really buttery. The cinnamon-sugar mixture was also good.

Here is a (not-so-great) photo of my snickerdoodles with a box of SoyDream Original Soy Milk.

two snickerdoodles + soymilk + a dorm kitchen!

I adapted the recipe here, which adapted the recipe from this Betty Crocker recipe. I doubled the recipe and got 80+ cookies. Maybe I made them a little big. These cookies were better than the ones I usually make. I think it had to do with the fact that they had more butter. While one could veganize the recipe, I don’t think it would be nearly as good because butter is such an integral part of the cookies. However, Katie can pretty much veganize anything and make it taste great, so I’m sure she has some great snickerdoodles up her sleeve.

Snickerdoodles (adapted twice)
2¾ cups (13.75 ounces) unbleached flour
2 teaspoons cream of tartar
1 teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoons salt
1 3/8 cups granulated sugar
2 tablespoon light brown sugar
16 tablespoons (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
2 large eggs
¼ cup (1.75 ounces) granulated sugar (for rolling)
2 tablespoons cinnamon
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1. Adjust oven rack to middle position and heat oven to 375 degrees. Whisk the flour, salt and baking soda in a medium bowl; set aside.

2. Beat butter and sugars (except the ¼ cup granulated sugar for rolling) until creamy; add eggs and vanilla and beat until combined. Add flour mixture and mix until just combined.

3. Mix ¼ cup sugar and the cinnamon in a shallow bowl. Roll approximately a tablespoon of dough into a 1-inch ball; roll ball in cinnamon sugar mixture. Repeat with remaining dough, placing balls 2 inches apart on ungreased baking sheet.

4. Bake until cookies are just set and turning golden brown at edges, 8-9 minutes. Cool cookies on baking sheet for 2 minutes; then, using a wide metal spatula, transfer cookies to a wire rack and cool to room temperature.

A few comments on the cookies: I made a few tweaks because this recipe wouldn’t be worth blogging about if it weren’t my snickerdoodle recipe in some way. I used a LOT of vanilla, perhaps too much. I think that vanilla is one of those great flavors that is had to overdo because it is such a “pleaser.” However, I think that this may have masked the subtle “butterscotch effect” of replacing some of the white sugar with brown sugar. This was something that Bridget had picked up on from a Cook’s Illustrated sugar cookie recipe. Unfortunately, I did not notice it in my cookies despite increasing the brown to white sugar ratio even further than she had.

I made about 80 cookies in all, about 40 for my swim team to enjoy after practice today and about 20 for my cross country team gathering. We ended up rescheduling but I wanted the cookies to be enjoyed while fresh! I am an editor on my school newspaper, so I brought the cookies to the meeting. Having cookies also helped me gain forgiveness for getting to the meeting late after swimming. 40 + 20 = 60, but I made 80. However, I was more than happy to have some of these and another thing about boarding school is that the dining hall is MUCH better than your public school cafeteria, but it is nothing compared to homemade. The dining hall can’t hold a candle to my snickerdoodles. Anyway, kids are always starving for homemade things, so there is really no way for food to go to waste here.

A little bit about dorm life: The soymilk comes in boxes that don’t require refrigeration which is great in any dorm. I live in a small dorm with only six senior girls and we share a full size fridge, which is awesome for high school. I haven’t done any shopping after getting back from break so I don’t have cow’s milk. The soy milk packs last a long time and I refrigerate a few at a time so I always have cold ones.

Another nice thing about my small senior dorm is that it has a kitchen (!!) minus the stove. So we do have real plates and silverware and a real sink to wash them. I don’t know about any of you guys in college but I hated washing my dishes in the bathroom last year. I finally moved to using paper because I didn’t think the lotion soap in the dorm bathroom could really get my dishes clean. It’s also much more satisfying to put your food on a dish. We also have a kitchen table for eating meals with a small group of friends.

Do you like snickerdoodles as much as I do? What makes your cookie recipe special? What’s your favorite cookie to make?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Toni Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

